Creamy & Delicious Paleo Tuna Mornay

Growing up one of my favorite dishes my Mum would make is Tuna Mornay over rice. It was creamy and cheesy saucey deliciousness! My siblings and I would fight over the left overs the next morning to smother over a piece of toast for breakfast. 

I have tried a few yummy Paleo versions of Tuna Mornay since switching to a Paleo lifestyle, but none compare to the way my Mum makes it. Mum’s is more of a Mornay sauce, not a tuna bake.

So I set out to re create Mum’s version of Tuna Mornay over rice, paleofied. 

The recipe I created below is the closest version I have ever tasted to my Mum’s family favorite recipe. It’s creamy, cheesy tasting sauciness that is very satisfying to eat! With the yummy edition of broccoli for added taste and nutrition rather than the traditional peas and corn, it’s nutritional and tasty comfort food! 

It’s also a very quick dish to make, from stove to plate in under 15min! And very cheap to make, this large batch, as per my recipe, cost me less than $15 and served 3 adults, two kids and a baby for dinner and we had enough left over for two adult lunches the next day. 

You can also easily halve my recipe for smaller families or cook my large batch and freeze in individual servings for future meals. 

Paleo Tuna Mornay

INGREDIENTS:

1tbs extra virgin olive oil

1L almond milk or coconut milk

1/4 cup arrowroot flour

1tbs curry powder 

1tbs redboat fish sauce or coconut aminos 

2 onions, diced

5 garlic cloves, crushed and chopped 

2x 425g tins tuna in springwater, drained

1/4 cup nutritional yeast 

Small head of broccoli, cut into florets 

Handful diced shallots 

Salt and pepper to taste

METHOD:

 • Steam or boil broccoli florets until tender but still firm

 • In a large saucepan fry onions and garlic in oil for 5min over medium heat

 • Add arrowroot flour and stir fry for 1 minute 

 • Add almond milk and nutritional yeast and stir continuously until sauce thickens, making sure to scrape and flour off the bottom of the pot

 • Reduce heat to low and add tuna and broccoli to pot. Gently stir to combine. 

 • Serve over cauliflower rice and top with shallots

I hope you and your family love it as much as we do. 

Don’t forget to enter your email address at the vey bottom of this blog post so you never miss a post.

Leave a Reply

